VE Day

VE day 1945

VE day celebrations, 1945

I don’t exactly know what happened, but I posted something about the elections yesterday and today my post is gone! I hope the support team can get it back… Anyway, moving on!

Yesterday was VE day (Victory in Europe Day). You’ll notice that there are a LOT of dates like this in England. There were and will be many celebrations around the country, as they love celebrating these war dates. So first, if you don’t know what it is, VE day marks the day when WWII ended in Europe, on 7th May 1945. On 8th May 1945 there were celebrations throughout England, making it the biggest street party ever!

If you want to know more about VE day you can watch a wonderful series on BBC iplayer where they interviewed several people about what they remember about the celebrations back in 1945. Interviewees include David Attenborough and Patrick Stewart. You can find the first episode here.

Celebrations this year will last all weekend and events mostly include church services and the lighting of beacons throughout the UK. I think there was a light show in the Houses of Parliament yesterday but I wasn’t able to go and see it.

Unfortunately I think not many people will celebrate in London due to the results of the elections. I think most people can’t understand at all how this outcome came to be, I guess people like high rent, university only for the rich and a privatised NHS but hey, I’m trying to remain neutral in this blog so I’ll shut up now.

Anyway, enjoy your weekend and drink responsibly!

Until next time,
Inês

Leave a Reply

