Life Decisions: Japan!

So, here I am again.

No matter how much time it seems that I ignore this blog, I always end up coming back to it. Yes, I’ve been busy, I teach quite a lot of hours a day and it’s sometimes difficult to do anything productive on the weekend, as I’m quite a lazy person. You’ve probably realised that by now.

But I would still like to thank everyone who’s followed me and commented and liked my posts, however few they are. I really appreciate it, especially when you comment, as one of the reasons I started this was to start conversations with new people, as my life seems to be completely for my students, co-workers and boyfriend. So thank you, from the bottom of my heart.

Anyway, I’m not writing this post in order to thank you, but to make an announcement. For a while now, even before I became an EFL teacher, I’ve been wanting to live in Japan for a year. It was actually one of the reasons why I became an EFL teacher. And I have finally achieved that dream.

I should thank a few people in my life for this, as I would never have made it on my own. As I’d like to keep their privacy, I’ll just assume that they’ll know who they are. So thank you to you all.

So, yeah. I’ll be moving to Japan in September to start my job as an English teacher. And I’m so happy to say that my boyfriend is going with me, which has made this experience a great deal better.

Due to the number of people who seem to be interested in this kind of experience, I decided to try and blog about that. My partner and I have been talking about maybe doing some videos, but I’m not too sure about that. For now, let’s do some blogging!

I know September is a long way away, but the process of getting a job and moving to a different country actually starts months before you even think about buying your plane tickets. Forgive me if I’m stating the obvious, but it’s better to be thorough, right?

So that’s why I wanted to start blogging now. That way you’ll be able to follow me on my journey from the UK to Japan. I’ll have to quickly bring you up to speed, but after that it’ll be pretty much live.

Hopefully, this will be useful to you and it’s my absolute pleasure to invite you along on one of my big life choices!

Expect a post soon about my experience as a non-native EFL teacher applying for jobs in Japan.

Until next time,

Ines

 

 

4 thoughts on “Life Decisions: Japan!

  1. icouldcrosstheocean says:

    I’m a fellow Japan-dreamer who is actually in college studying math education right now. I’m very interested to see your whole process of job applications! Also, what exactly is EFL? I’ve never heard of those terms but our teaching program and school itself is also very small, so there probably isn’t as much of a need for it here.

    Like

    • lusitangled says:

      Hello! Thank you for commenting! EFL basically means English as a Foreign Language. The EFL community is full of acronyms such as this. ESL (English as a Second Language), EAP (English for Academic Purposes), BE (Business English), the list goes on and on. As you’re planning on becoming a math teacher (I assume), you probably won’t hear these at all. Are you planning on teaching math in Japan, or trying your luck in the EFL world?

      Liked by 1 person

      • icouldcrosstheocean says:

        Ok I’ve heard of ESL so I have more of an understanding than I thought! I originally wanted to teach math in the states, but I think if I went to Japan EFL would be a better route for me, I just have no idea if my campus has a program for it. How did you get your start in it? Was it just a major or a program or something else?

        Like

      • lusitangled says:

        In my case, I actually studied illustration, so it was something I did outside of college. There are different ways of getting into EFL, but the most widely accepted is either getting a CELTA certificate, which usually is a month long intensive course. TESOL is similar and also accepted, but I’ve noticed that it isn’t as popular. However, if you’re an English native speaker, you don’t even need a qualification to teach English in Japan, so I’d major in whatever you like best. As it is already connected to education, that’ll already be a plus for you.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

