26th Birthday

Last time I wrote about my birthday was, of course, a year ago. However, last time I was unemployed and going through a rough time. My 24th year wasn’t the best of years, especially when it came to my job. Not that my job is perfect now, but at least I’m earning a decent amount of money (if I ever get paid).

This year, when I got home after spending the day out with my boyfriend, I felt sad for different reasons. I felt sad the year was over. My 25th year was a great year, and I’d like to tell you why, mainly because I want to remember it and since I’ve the memory of a goldfish, writing it down is the best way to do that.

I’ve met some amazing people

DSC_0019From amazing teachers to extraordinary students, I’ve met so many awesome people this year, it’s crazy!

I met people who inspired me to follow my dreams and who helped me through tough times. I’ve met amazing students who made me feel worthwhile and good at what I’ve chosen to do.

I really cannot say it enough, this year was full of extraordinary people.

I finally got a job in Japan

Thanks to the support of my friends, family and students, I’ve finally been able to fulfil my lifelong dream of living in Japan.
I had always been too scared of applying because I know how competitive it is, especially for non-native speakers, but this year I got some sense talked into me and went for it.

I travelled to amazing places

IMAG2555Since this year I actually was being paid a decent salary I was able to travel a bit. I went to visit a friend in Poland, spent a lovely weekend with my boyfriend in Norway and spent an amazing two weeks in Japan, not to mention all of my visits to Portugal!

Not too shabby for a self-employed teacher.

I feel more confident

20160327_104811_002I feel comfortable in my own skin, something I’ve never been before. I’ve always doubted myself and my choices, especially the decision to become a teacher and abandoning my art.

However, this year has made me realise that I’m good at what I do, and that I enjoy doing it, which was actually quite surprising to me.

There’s no better feeling than to be told by your adult students that they can tell that you enjoy your work and that you work hard. They’ve often made me cry, which brings me to the next topic.

I have amazing students

DSC_0031This year I’ve helped students find jobs, deal with problematic employers and landlords and, hopefully, to improve their English skills. But I never expected to get the level of gratitude that they showed me.

I’ve had students surprise me during the break after they finally moved up to the Advanced class and give an amazing card with jokes about things we had talked about in class, a coffee cup filled with chocolate and a Harry Potter notebook (as I often use both Harry and chocolate in my grammar examples).

I’ve had students go out with me to the pub and invited them to my birthday party, where they gave me board markers because mine always run out.

IMAG3272I’ve had students surprise me on the day before my birthday after the break. I opened the door and all the lights were off and there was a birthday cake and students who had even finished the course were there to sing happy birthday to me.

IMG-20160517-WA0002And on my last day at the school, they surprised me by getting one of the empty classrooms decorated and gave me a framed collage of all of us and the time we’d spent together.  Needless to say that I cried like a baby.

I felt extremely loved this year, and I owe it all to my wonderful students.

It was a great year, but this one is already shaping up to be even more amazing! Even with the few payment-related annoyances and leaving my job at the school, all the negative things seem to constantly be completely outshone by all the other wonderful things.

I can’t wait to see what this year holds for me.

Until next time,

Ines

 

4 thoughts on “26th Birthday

Leave a Reply

