Facing My Fears

Tomorrow I’ll be doing something that I’ve been dreading for four years. I’m going to go back to Cambridge in order to see this year’s Degree Show at my old university. Yeah, OK, it’s not like jumping off a plane, it’s almost mundane, but it’s something that I’ve avoided doing for a long time.

Somehow, facing my old tutors and peers was an extremely daunting prospective, and so I always turned down invites from my uni friends and boyfriend. The idea of answering questions about what I was doing with my life and if I was still drawing filled me with fear and may have caused some minor panic attacks.

However, as I said on my birthday post, I feel more comfortable with my choices now. And I finally feel confident enough to go and see all those people who were so supportive of my art in the past. I feel confident enough to tell them how I teach English now, and how I love it. How I’m going to Japan soon and how it was the right choice for me.

I’m actually looking forward to it! Looking at work from newly-graduated students might inspire me to do some more drawings. Meeting new people whilst drinking cheap wine and munching on crisps seems like a fun evening out.

Going back will also bring back memories of a time that I truly enjoyed in my life. Yes, it was full of young adult drama and deadline panic, but it was also a time of self-discovery and newly-found freedom and I sometimes miss it.

When I look back on it now, I realise how silly some things were, and how there were times when I truly felt like life was just ahead of me and how anything could happen. It was a time when summer nights would lead to philosophical debates over wine, long drunken walks to the nearest off-license and bumping off cigarettes from strangers on the street because we couldn’t be bothered to roll our own.

Anyway, hopefully it’ll be a good night and it’ll be nice to walk around Cambridge, which is a wonderful city. Maybe I’ll go a bit earlier than my boyfriend and walk around near the river. Hopefully I’ll write a bit about it and post it here.

What did you think about your uni years? And if you’re still at uni, what do you make of it? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time,

Ines

2 thoughts on “Facing My Fears

    • lusitangled says:

      Thanks for the comment, as always :D I had a great time after the actual degree show, turns out it’s not as scary as I thought it was! And don’t worry, I really don’t think that we should be allowed to go to uni so early in our lives, we should all have a few years of experimenting before being made to decide what we want to do with our lives!

      Like

Leave a Reply

