Summer School Shenanigans

DSC_0200So yeah I know, long time no see but hey, I was working (again)! It’s the truth though, I was working non-stop in a summer school in Oxford, where I work every year. It’s an amazing experience and I always meet so so many incredible people! I’m actually sad that I won’t be able to come back next year, as I’ll be in Japan. 

Before my summer started I spent a month unemployed and it felt like time had stopped. And I knew that once I started summer school time would speed up and it has. I can’t believe that a whole month has passed already. And it’s going to keep going like this! I’m about to leave the UK to go to Portugal one last time before moving to Japan. I’m going on a trip to the US with my parents. It’s going to fly by and I’m starting to realise that this is it. It’s happening!

This summer started in a wonderful way and I just wanted to share a little bit about it, with a few highlights:

1. New amazing friendships

One of the perks of being a TEFL teacher is that you end up meeting amazing people on the job! Most of us never intended to be teachers, so you meet people who studied all sorts of different subjects. We all work abroad and have travelled all around the world. TEFL teachers are artistic, knowledgeable and have the most incredible stories to tell.

2. Euro Cup Champeons!

I’m not that big of a football fan, but as Portugal kept moving forward I decided to start watching the matches. Watching them with my fellow teachers made it a much better experience, especially during the final. It was lucky that it was my day off, so I grabbed the other teacher who was off and we watched it together at the pub. It was a nerve-racking and emotional evening! I still can’t believe we won!

3. Incredible students

This year we had a very talented group of students in Oxford, and they were all like, 14! From amazing dancers to singers, to comedians and magicians, they made the whole experience a million times better.

This is why I always go back to the same summer school and the same centre (not to mention the money, haha). It’s a great experience, you get to spend a month in an Oxford University Campus, and you meet people from all over the world.

I wish I could post more pictures, but that’s probably not a good idea. Anyway, that’s it for now. I need to finish packing now and to go drop a bunch of old clothes in the nearest charity shop. I’ll try and write from Portugal or from the US but no promises.

Enjoy your summer guys. Until next time,

Ines

 

Leave a Reply

